Prešov region

Prešov region
Size: 8,974 sq. kilometres
Population: 800,483
Density: 89 / sq. km
Unemployment rate: 13.8%*
Average monthly wage: Sk15,000 (€462)*
Average wage, Slovakia: Sk20,146 (€620)*
Share of Slovak GDP creation:
8.7% **
FDI: Sk439 million (€13.5 million)
Share of Slovak FDI in 2006: 0.7%

Sources: Statistical Office of the Slovak Republic and Slovak National Bank, all figures current to December 31, 2006, except for * 2007 and ** 2005

The Prešov Region
The north-east Prešov region is Slovakia's most physically spectacular, but poor and sparsely settled as well. It borders on Poland and Ukraine, and contains five national parks. Less than half of the inhabitants of the region live in urban settings.
The main rivers in the region are the Poprad, which flows north through Kežmarok into Poland, and the Topľa, which flows south from the Polish border through Bardejov and Vranov nad Topľou to eventually join the Bodrog into Hungary. The region has three national parks Vysoké Tatry (The High Tatras), Poloniny and Pieniny.
The Prešov self-governing region is made up of 13 districts and 665 municipalities. Some of the most significant foreign investment to have arrived in the Prešov region has gone into the wood processing and automotive sector.
However, Prešov remains economically the weakest region of Slovakia with predominantly rural character

the Vysoké Tatry (High Tatras), Levoča, Kežmarok, the Pieniny (national park), Bardejov included in the UNESCO World Heritage List, the Poloniny (national park), Belianska Cave, Stará Ľubovňa Castle, Medzilaborce (Andy Warhol Museum), Spišská Kapitula (cathedral), Bardejov Spa, Park Snow Vysoké Tatry (ski resort), Tatranská Lomnica (ski resort), Aquacity Poprad (aquapark)