Lučenec is a town in the southeasten part of the Banská Bystrica Region.
The first historical mention of Lučenec was in 1128. Part of the city has been declared a “historical monument zone” to acknowledge the historical and architectural value of its churches and five mansions. There are the Catholic church built in 1738, the Evangelical church (1784) and the Calvinist church (1853). The city also has a unique Jewish synagogue built in 1925. That zone including the famous Reduta buil in 1810 and the Town Hall, built in 1894, the 400-years-old Hungarian secondary school and the Novohrad Museum founded back in 1897.
Nowadays, Lučenec, thanks to its proximity to the Hungarian border, become to be an important trade location.